Call
Chat

Jackson Hole Customer Reviews

Traveler(s)

Jackson Hole Customer Reviews (18)

Overall Experience*

4.8
Excellent
*based on the average of all Overall Experience ratings given in Traveler reviews.
Kenneth E Perry
03/11/2016

Epic

Jackson hole has something for everyone, from steeps to cruisers. The line at the tram can be a little long but worth the wait. No lines on the right side of the mountain. Put the Mangy Moose on the list for great tacos and good drinks. Jackson Sports provided our group with great service.
sarah deshane
02/02/2016

Beautiful place

Had a nice time in Jackson Hole. Great downtown area. The actual resort area nightlife a little lack luster.
Jon in Portsmouth
02/16/2012

Jackson Hole Is Incredible!

I stayed at Jackson Hole in February and the place is amazing. The mountain is definitely geared more towards experienced skiers and riders. I loved the terrain and easy accessibility to back country areas and on hill zones to hike. The snow was a bit hard and and bumpy for the first few days, but after some warmer weather and about 5 inches of fresh snow the conditions were incredible. Would recommend to any body who wants to push their limits.
Brian in Knoxville
11/23/2011

Best place there is for a winter vacation.

Favorite place to go skiing in the world. There is a limited amount of ski able area for beginners; it has some of the most ruthless unforgiving ski terrain in the world after all. But Grand Targhee is one of the great ski areas no one talks about only an hour or so away (and it's generally not crowded with over 500 inches of the best powder every year). It's also great if you love animal spotting (tons of animals come out of Yellowstone to the south in the winter) ; its one of the only ski areas where you can ski during the day and see moose, elk and bears the same night. All you have to do is ask locals and there's a fair chance of seeing animals right around town. Not the most stuff to do when not skiing (nightlife and such). It's definitely a place you need to be going to do serious skiing (it's not an amusement park like Vail, although most people that love Jackson would say they wouldn't have it any other way).
ellen in Kearney
03/30/2011

awesome trip

JH is a beautiful place. Great for a family trip with so much to do. Our trip was one of the most memorable trips we have had and e will be back again and again.
Dave in China spring
03/17/2011

absolutely breathtaking

stayed at jackson hole for 5 days and 5 nights and loved it. Probably the most beautiful mountain and best skiing anywhere.The hotel Terra was great. Good location to lifts with just a short walk up the hill every morning and ski right down to the ski valet in the afternoons.
Jason in Milton
03/05/2011

awesome snow

My only complaint, is that it was overcast the whole trip, made skiing much more challenging. We had fresh powder every day

The snowmobile trip through yellowstone is a "must do"
Maria in New york
01/28/2011

Ski Camp

A massive beautiful mountain with gorgeous terrain. But tough/challenging skiing.
David in Cary
03/16/2010

Have always loved Jackson Hole

Have been traveling to Jackson Hole for 30 years, only the second time to ski, and it was awesome. Nothing can compare to the tram to the top of Rendezvous Mountain and the skiing down. The Inn at Jackson Hole is the perfect mid-range lodge for the price. No over the top amenities, but the perfect lodge for full days of skiing and comfort.
Alex in Nashville
02/26/2010

Interesting place to ski

My 12 year old son and I loved it here, for different reasons. He is obsessed with "back country skiing", and skiing among the trees, and there were plenty of places to do this. I found the mountain really challenging. I'm older, in my 50's, and can ski pretty well, but here the, blue, intermediate slopes felt almost like black diamonds. So if you like challenges, this would be a great place to ski. The thing I really loved was all the other things to do in JH: visit Yellowstone (gorgeous in winter), dog sledding, wildlife, etc. And the place feels wonderfully remote. For this reason, it would be a good resort for families where not everyone skis, but the non skiers want to do something other than lie in the spa the whole time (even though this is an option, apparently).
Gertie in Galesburg
03/25/2009

Great group visit to Jackson Hole

I took a group of my fellow ski club skiers to Jackson Hole recently. We stayed at
Snow King. Loved it...everyone at the resort was wonderful-couldn't do enough for us! The location
was the best, we could walk to town, or take the free
shuttle to town or to Teton Village and also to Targhee. Everyone agreed, it was probably the best trip ever. Our boarders and our skiers were happy
with the varied terrain and accessiblity! We also
skied Snow King. The whole area had something to offer everyone. Our nonskiers were happy too, with
the excellent shopping opportunities and general
overall ambiance of the area.
Great snow!!!!!
Karen in Tampa
03/07/2009

Perfect for the second time!

We went to Jacson Hole for a 5 day stay right before Christmas. It is a great time to go, before the crowds. The overall experience is so nice. There is easy access from the airport, the transfer company vans are clean and the drivers very friendly. The resort itself is just beautiful. We have stayed at The Teton Mountain Lodge and this year at Hotel Terra, both upscale properties. The new tram opened while we were there and it was very exciting! Our experience with Ski.com over the years has been wonderful, we kind of work "together", and Ann Denney is the most patient vacation specialist, ask for her for great service!
Jaakko in Riverside
03/06/2009

Teton Mountain Lodge

I was taken by the fact that everything was so NEW. Considering that place has been there for ages hotels, restaurants just about everything was like brand new. Our hotel dinner was great value and Pool area great after long day of skiing. Also lots of other restaurants to choose. We had kids 9 and 11 year olds with us but since we skipped the most challenging runs we did not have any issues. You do want to put your kids to ski school for the day to learn a new things for skiing or boarding. If I would have been there alone or with some Guys, night life could have been a bit dull;) But then you can always go to Town of Jackson for night life. Just amazing skiing. A must for a ski person to visit.
Allan in Tenafly
03/06/2009

Excellent, except for one thing

This is a great resort for good skiers. Challenging mountain, trails well groomed, good infrastructure, excellent restaurants and lodging. Also, not too busy due to small numbers of day trippers.
One BIG problem - ski patrol is absent other than on the most difficult double black runs and, if you have a mishap, there is only a clinic. Airlift is required to a hospital. So, if you break a leg, good luck...
Robert in Southborough
03/06/2009

Great mountain, great town -- when you can see them

For the second time in two years I spent a week at JH. It is a terrific mountain -- and there's plenty of cruising terrain for those who don't want to jump down elevator shafts. Problem is, out a total of 13 days (7 march, 6 feb) I have had two sunny ones. The visibility issue can cut into fun. When you can see -- there's a ton of things to look at and to ski on....
On the upside, there is a wide variety of accomodation levels and restaurants as well. Just as the "difficult" reputation is not fully accurate, so too is the "gltizy" rap. The staff at the Tteton Moutnain Ldoge and the other Teton Village facilities were very pleasant.
Avi in New york
03/05/2009

I loved Jackson Hole

Can't wait to return to Jackson Hole.
Steve in Denver
03/04/2009

This is a great mountain, and a fun town.

Two of my friends and myself took a ski trip to Jackson Hole last month and absolutely loved it. The mountain is amazing! What we loved most was how quiet the mountain was, even on the weekend days. We never waited in a lift line more than a couple of minutes. The tram was amazing. Even though it was more crowded and a longer wait than the other lifts, in only took about 10 minutes to get to the top. The views from the summit were amazing. You can even see an outline of the Jackson Hole logo on one of the cross-country ski courses. Pretty cool. We had dinner at Osteria, Stieglers and The Four Seasons, and all were great. We also really enjoyed tubing at the base of Snowking mountain in town. More fun than we expected.

Overall it was a great weekend, and we will definitely go back in the future.
Dan in Chicago
03/04/2009

My favorite place to ski!

I've skied at a lot of places over the past few years – 13 major resorts the western United States last year alone. But Jackson Hole remains my favorite place to ski in the United States.

Skiing/riding:
Though I don't think I would recommend Jackson Hole to beginners, I think it's a must do for intermediate/advanced skiers. The resort boasts more than 4,000 feet of vertical, 2,500 acres of in-bounds terrain and another 3,000 acres of "sidecountry" terrain accessed through gates. The big news this year was the unveiling of the new Jackson Hole tram. The new "big red" whisks 100 skiers and riders to the top of the legendary Rendezvous Bowl in just nine minutes. With a few turns skier left, visitors can take a look down the infamous Corbett's Couloir or choose to head down the bowl to tree skiing, bumps, groomers and, most often, deep powder. Click into a pair of fat skis and enjoy!

The rest:
Teton Village, located 12 miles from the town of Jackson, is a bit on the quiet side. While there are a number of great restaurants (Osteria), the real specialty is apres. The Mangy Moose Saloon is one of my favorite bars in the country. Try the "Moose Margs" and listen to some live music. Also make sure you stop by the Village Cafe (The VC) which holds a place in history as the unofficial hangout of the Jackson Hole Air Force, probably the most underground skiing fraternity in the mountains. Check out the documentary about the Air Force called “Swift, Silent, Deep” in the fall of ’09.

The town of Jackson offers something for everyone. The Cowboy Bar, known for its saddle barstools, is a must. There is also dining for every type of budget. From Billy's (burgers) to Blu Kitchen (Asian fusion).

There are also activities such as snowmobiling and snowshoeing through Teton National Park, Yellowstone, touring the National Elk Refuge and more.
Top